Thread: Kenai experience

Default Kenai experience

I'm a newbie to the board,so thanks for the access.Been coming to the great state of Ak for a lot of years and had an experience this summer that Id like someone to enlighten me on.I realize that the debate over "snagging" has been beat to death over the years,and I also know that at the right time of the year there are so many reds that there is no reason for it.So Im in no way advocating snagging.I had 2 fish on a string and got checked by an officer.One of the fish was hooked under the lower lip,but the hook did not technically enter the mouth.He confiscated both fish,with no citation.(Which I thanked him whole-heartedly for.)The next day I did my own test.I foul hooked 10 fish in the process of harvesting my 3.Two of the ten were released almost dead,and floated downstream.I love Alaska and that river but someone explain to me how that is better than just getting your 3 or 6 and going back to camp???

Like you said it has been beat to death. The short answer is symantics. And even though there may appear to be a lot of
    reds in the river, it is a long way from over escapement to the point it causes spawning issues. If you tweak your set up you find you foul hook a lot less fish, sending you home that much sooner.

I admit that I fish with a longer leader than most,and we know what that usually leads to,but I do try to tweak it according to the conditions.We didn't get that monster pulse this year that weve been spoiled with the last couple years,but on some of those 100,000 plus days its hard to keep from it.

Quote Originally Posted by elliott1 View Post
    Two of the ten were released almost dead,and floated downstream.
    Shouldn't have been almost dead after snagging. Look into how to revive tired fish and you won't see that again.