Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Savage 99 .358 Win

Default Savage 99 .358 Win

I have always had a yearn for a Savage 99 in the .358 Winchester and I finally bit the bullet and picked one up for what I feel is a fair price. My main Alaska rifle is a 8mm Remington Magnum but it is a 26 inch light weight about 7 pounds that I built up for sheep hunting. Yes it's not you typical sheep gun but being 50 feet from a Grizzly with a .270 in my hands didn't leave me warm and fuzzy. Any way my thinking is I'll carry the .358 while out berry picking knocking around the timber etc. I am just curious if anyone else thinks like me or am I off kilter ?

yuo're off kilter---just like the rest of us Gun Loonies

enjoy,
    it's a great cartrige

Chris

Although I have zero experience with the .358, I've always been a fan based on the reading I've done. Plus it just sounds cool. Have a Savage 99 in .308 passed down to me from my Great Uncle and Grandfather. Love it.

If you ever decide to depart with that .358, let me know!

Lucky man! I have one in .308 and another in .300 Savage. I was going to have my .308 made into a .358... maybe I still will.

this is my primary gun. a 20 in barreled savage 99. it aint pretty, but I don't care, it'll put a bullet through 5 ft of moose on a head-on shot.

48 grains of reloader 10x, and a 200 grain accubond at 2700 fps, is my open country, or alpine load. 200 yd zero, makes 400 yd shots very easy, even in heavy winds. that's my limit.

everything else on the rivers:

275 grain woodleigh, 42 grains of reloader 10x. anything within 300 yds is dead. the bullets will go completely though a bull moose front end.

I drop the scope, and use it for bear protection. the nice round receiver, make for a handy carbine to carry. 5 rounds over an unloaded chamber, with a short-throw lever makes for a serious bear protection gun. heck, I drop the scope when I'm done moose hunting anyways, makes for a nice carry gun with camp chores.