Thread: Homer trolling tips

Default Homer trolling tips

I'm relatively new to the trolling game out of Homer and have been having spotty luck at best. We caught a couple of silvers a few weeks ago out at silver ridge, but when we went back last weekend, it was pretty dead for us on Saturday. My wife did manage to catch a nice big silver near Seldovia when I found some birds working a bait ball. We had just finished with a little halibut fishing so I didn't set up the downriggers and instead just had her mooch a herring behind a 3 ounce weight near the birds. I've been seen pictures of lots of kings being caught recently and sure would like to catch my first one on the boat. I have a couple of questions I was hoping to get some help with.

1.) How do you manage trolling speed/direction on days with large tidal swings? I've read and heard that shooting for a 35-45 degree angle on your downrigger cable is a good indication of speed relative to water speed, but would sure appreciate some pointers.

2.) Are there preferred times to troll relative to high or low tide? I'm starting to get a handle on the difference between the tide books projected times (near shore) and the reality in spots a little further out.

3.) Would anybody be willing to share some areas that have been productive recently? I have a 22 foot Hewescraft and can run a fair distance, but I am fairly cautious with the weather too. If I don't hear from anybody I'll probably end up between Seldovia and Pogi hoping for the best tomorrow.

Thanks!

Pm sent, I won't be back out till Monday.

Bumb.... I also would like to get some info on this topic... Thank you

LSMT

You might want to talk to this guy.... http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...t=#post1426287
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Quote Originally Posted by 4merguide View Post
    You might want to talk to this guy.... http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...t=#post1426287