Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grouse/Ptarmigan shot size

Default Grouse/Ptarmigan shot size

I have always used for grouse and ptarmigan a 20 gauge with #7.5 or #8 size steel shot. I got a case of #7.5 steel shells that has lasted me for quite awhile, however I am down to my last box. I have been having a hard time finding #7.5 or #8 steel shot in 20 gauge around Anchorage. The smallest I have been able to find is size 6 shot steel shot in 20ga. I have never used #6 for grouse and ptarmigan before. Is #6 shot out of a 20 gauge over kill? Or does anyone know any place that would have #7.5 or #8 20 gauge shells?

Is there a reason your after steel?

I use 4, 6, 7.5 and 8 lead, they all work fine. I actually prefer 4 because I don't end up with so many pellets in a bird. This is for hunting spruce forests, might be a different story if your hunting more open ground?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Size 7 1/2 lead has always worked for me.

I use #6 out of my 20 and 16 gauge hunting Ptarmigan. Most of my hunting is for Spruce grouse in close quarters, for which I use #7.5 or 8s.

I would say that steel that small would not have enough energy to be effective at common (flying) ptarmigan ranges. I'm with Jim. 7.5 lead for me.

Lead #6 in the early season, #4 in the winter...12 gauge

I don't care for the 7 1/2 shot for grouse. they tend to leave alot of shot in the meat. number 4's have damaged meat, but number 6 shot, almost always passed through, while not damaging meat. I really like the 3 in 20 gauage 6 shot federal. really versatile shotgun shell for almost all upland bird hunting.

I really like #6 lead for open country upland hunting. I've used 7.5s and 4s and both work in a pinch- 4s work good on late season sharp tails that get cagey and flush at longer range.

I use steel on waterfowl but it really limits your range on upland game.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit