Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Predator Calling Specifically for Bears

Default Predator Calling Specifically for Bears

Greetings!

I have been calling black bear in Arizona using hand-calls for the past 20 years and have called bears in every year without fail. Calling bears is my primary hunting passion and I have always dreamed of calling bears in Alaska. Thus, I am curious if anyone purposely or regularly predator calls for bears in Alaska?

I am finally taking a trip to Soldotna next October to visit my friend who is a resident. I plan on calling off the Swanson River area for black bear and my friend will be hunting with me just in case a brownie decides to show up. Obviously, I will not be calling right up along the river, nor in any areas where people who are fishing would hear me screaming away at my calls. Hoping to take two black bears in a week of hunting if weather and bears cooperate! Is it a valid concern to worry about brownies in the area during the first week of October? Or are they sparsely populated in that area compared to the black bears?

Thanks for any responses.

Quote Originally Posted by kidso View Post
    Is it a valid concern to worry about brownies in the area during the first week of October? Or are they sparsely populated in that area compared to the black bears?
    Sure.........it's a valid concern in Oct. Anywhere there are known to be a good amount of brown bears, such as the Kenai, there is always the possibility of calling one in. You might want to find a nice tree to climb up into while doing so.....
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Brown bears are thick in that area. Get some!

Greetings!