Thread: Interior Moose Timing

Default Interior Moose Timing

Hi all, I am new to moose hunting and have made camp and scouted an area. My glassing opportunities are limited so I will be calling. I have found plenty of sign that there are moose in the area including fresh and old summer and winter scat, fresh tracks and trails, old rubs, calf and cow calls, and their smell. I need some info on the rut timing as it pertains to when I should start raking and calling and when to use attractant. We have been hunting for 5 days and other than the sign I have only seen 1 cow. I have until the 22nd so, I have some time.

Be patient still early
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming-----WOW-----what a ride!
    Unknown author

As jkb says, in some places it's still kinda early. It seems that some bulls just react differently. I've called aggressively at this time to get big bulls that I knew where there and they've come in hard. But then I've called at this same time and got no response.

If you know bulls are in the area or at least a lot of moose within a couple miles, keep calling. What will happen sometimes is you will slowly draw moose towards you for a few days and never see anything, and then all of a sudden they will be all over the place. But at this time of year I would tend to be a little less agressive with the call. As time progresses amp up the calls. Don't be afraid to throw in a few long drawn out cow calls as well to mix things up.
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

I have the best luck over the years calling and raking at sun up, and sun down. They seem to be pretty quiet during mid day, unless I just haven't heard them because of other noises.

Quote Originally Posted by 2dawgs View Post