Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spotting scope questions

Default Spotting scope questions

I'm wanting to know what everyone's opinion on these three spotting scopes.
    Vortex razor hd 65mm
    Pentax ED2 65mm
    Leupold Gold ring non HD 60mm

Vortex makes a very impressive scope for the money. Anything non-ED is tough with variable lighting conditions. I don't think you can go wrong with the Vortex.

While I have no knowledge of these scopes, a couple questions are in order: What will the scope be used for and what light conditions? If back packing then I would want a light weight scope and small light weight tri-pod. If I was going to be using a vehicle of some sort, then weight may not be a issue. As far as light conditions, I would want a scope that gathers light real well and that might mean a lager scope.
    While out hunting, talk with people to see what spotting scopes they are using, how they like them and see if they will allow you to look through it.

When I was looking at scopes I compared the Vortex Razor 65mm HD to the Swaro 60mm HD and the Vortex gave the Swaro a run for its money....at about $800 less too. I can't speak for the other two you are looking at, but that Vortex was a very good scope.

I have the razor 85mm. It is much better than my 20 year old Nikon........I don't have anything to compare it to.

My razor binos in 12x50 are awesome.

All good scopes, I bet you would be hard pressed to tell the difference between them. I would look at the weights and ergo's mostly. Vortex and Leupold have a better warranty then Pentax, though Pentax did repair my bino's that were dropped for free. All that being said, I have a Vortex Razor HD 65mm and I am happy.

I have a pair of Pentax marine binoculars that are money. Excellent product and I wouldn't be afraid of buying their spotting scope.