Thread: What Does Right Look Like?

Default What Does Right Look Like?

So I got a new Ruger Super Redhawk Toklat. I'm impressed after toting the 329PD for a few years. I am pretty good with a rifle and a shotgun but honestly, I'm no handgun expert. I have a new Ruger Super Redhawk Toklat and I'm impressed. Having carried a 329PD and shooting it a lot, I was accustomed to heavy recoil and short barrel accuracy.

I have loaded mid-way, by the book hand loads and the recoil is nothing but enjoyable. This has me thinking, what have I been missing? So I'd like to first off discount my short comings as a handgun shooter and ask a couple things.

I shoot mostly in single action mode even with my double action revolver. I do practice in double and single action but I shoot the best, cocking the revolver and then shooting. So what modifications are there that make shooting without cocking first? I know that some people cheat and reduce spring pressure, I don't want that. I want a smooth, even pull without it stacking up. I want it to go bang every time, as it is primarily a defense weapon. I believe that slow is smooth, smooth is fast.

So what makes a good defense revolver with regard to trigger pull, sights and reliability? I have fallen in love with the Toklat. I'm looking at a load pushing the 340gn BTB bullet at about 1300-1400fps. I'm not really into porting, mostly interested in making it smooth, reliable accurate.

Thoughts?

The more you shoot it the smoother it will get.An action job is just speeded up normal wear. I shoot my DA's 95% single action and always when hunting. My DA shooting is only for that ten foot away bear or perp.Congrats on the fine gun.
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you