Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Solo Moose Hunting Out of Fairbanks--Worthwhile? Tips?

Default Solo Moose Hunting Out of Fairbanks--Worthwhile? Tips?

I'm on an internship in Fairbanks (aka I'm a law student) and I'm wondering how much are my chances decreased without an ATV? I'll have about two weekends in the middle of Sept to hunt. I'm basically wondering if it's worth it to shell out the cash for the nonresident tag and a truck rental--and the ATV if necessary. If there is a decent shot, any tips on where to go, what to do?

Or maybe it would it be better to go for Caribou?

And of course, if anyone needs a partner or has an open spot, I'd gladly help out with all the supplies to learn the tricks of the trade.

I don't know the Fairbanks area well as it pertains to moose, but in general I think a hunter's odds remain the same or actually go up slightly without an ATV as long as they hunt in areas that don't contain ATV trails. ATVs tend to concentrate hunters into areas that have lots of pressure, whereas going on foot allows you to explore areas with little to no competition. Of course, what becomes much harder is meat recovery. If you're willing to put in the work, though, you can have great hunts on foot.

Quote Originally Posted by csteeny View Post
    I'm on an internship in Fairbanks (aka I'm a law student) and I'm wondering how much are my chances decreased without an ATV? I'll have about two weekends in the middle of Sept to hunt. I'm basically wondering if it's worth it to shell out the cash for the nonresident tag and a truck rental--and the ATV if necessary. If there is a decent shot, any tips on where to go, what to do?

And of course, if anyone needs a partner or has an open spot, I'd gladly help out with all the supplies to learn the tricks of the trade.