Thread: Hunting buddy or tips/advice

Default Hunting buddy or tips/advice

Hi! I just moved up to Anchorage in March from Colorado, and looking to get started hunting ducks up here. I have been hunting mostly mallards with a few canadian geese for the last 4 years in Colorado. All of it has been sitting at small ponds, trying to learn how to call them in. So, I am new to AK, hunting marshes and rivers, as well as from boats or ATVs. I have a small decoy spread (12 floating mallards, 12 goose land decoys, goose flapper).

I just bought a 16' Lowe jonboat with a 40hp Merc jet on Thursday. From what I'm reading, it sounds like it might be less than ideal for Rabbit Slough? I took it up 20mile yesterday as a test run, and it ran great! Anyways, I'm looking for either a hunting buddy or someone that would be willing to help me get started up here. I didn't hunt growing up, so everything I know is what I've learned in books, forums, and videos. I am a responsible, respectful hunter that will work hard to earn some kills. Thanks!

Welcome to the Alaska Waterfowl world of wonders..lol

Kidding aside, SEARCH THIS FORUM.
    It is a grueling process up here. Limited areas with not many willing to share and wanting you to do your own DD.
    YES..that boat is not ideal for rabbit slough. although there are many areas you can park up and down it, hike in to many of the potholes and have a great/poor shoot depending on area. Sounds like 20 mile, or even the bigger rivers north would provide more opportunities.

Good luck and hope to see you on the marsh.
    President of Alaska Waterfowl Assoc.
    http://akwaterfowl.com
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Alask...78020265619952
    AlaskaWaterfowlAssociation@gmail.com
    Gen.1:26
    And God said, let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

a2thak, WELCOME TO THE WATERFOWL FORUM