Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beads or egg patern?

Default Beads or egg patern?

If this has already been beat to death here forgive me.....
    It seems, from what Ive been seeing in my research, that beads are what everyone's using? over egg patern's
    As a dedicated fly fisherman I have a hard time using a plastic bead and a bare hook. from what I gather plastic beads aren't permitted in "fly fishing only" zones but have fly fisherman accepted plastic beads as a standard practice?

I mean no disrespect to anyone using them, just having a hard time understanding.

Just my prejudice, but I don't like beads. I spent too many years fishing egg patterns before beads came along, and I've been tying flies for over 50 years. I just get more satisfaction out of the flies. To each his own, until the beading methods result in lots of snags. Don't like that at all. As for beads being lures rather than flies in some restricted waters, that's my understanding even if I've never read the law. Doesn't affect me, so it's someone else's worry. Call me a geezer, and you're making me proud!

@BrownBear...I couldn't agree more! I've been tying LOTS of flies for my up coming trip to AK, Tied lots of egg patterns in various colors, just was wondering if I was wasting my time and would be better off with a bag of plastic beads, would MUCH rather fish egg pattern over plastic if it's just as successful?

Quote Originally Posted by Felcie View Post
    ...if it's just as successful?
    It is for me.

Here's a neat stunt: