Thread: getting started

Default getting started

I am new to salt water fishing and would like some in put from the folks out there as to what kind of gear I will need to have to go for salmon. I have the bout and will be fishing from Valdez

Wow.... The sky's the limit.

Best possible thing you could do is pick a local guy who's real successful with a boat similar to yours, then beg or buy a few rides on his boat. He'll know more about local waters and local fishing, as well as boat operations, than anyone sitting in another port pounding guesses onto a keyboard.

BB nailed it IMO....and then after that and you have your boat rigged right, invite the same new friend to go out on your boat and show you the ropes.

Quote Originally Posted by carolinaboy View Post
    ....and then after that and you have your boat rigged right, invite the same new friend to go out on your boat and show you the ropes.
    You nailed it yourself. That's a valuable second half of the process.

Quote Originally Posted by BrownBear View Post
    Wow.... The sky's the limit.

Best possible thing you could do is pick a local guy who's real successful with a boat similar to yours, then beg or buy a few rides on his boat. He'll know more about local waters and local fishing, as well as boat operations, than anyone sitting in another port pounding guesses onto a keyboard.
    I've been looking for that guy for awhile...but slowly and enjoyably cracking the code on my own. Great advice, though...a guy could learn a whole bunch real fast!

Best thing, IMO is to go buy a pair of downriggers, 15lb. balls, 3 small hotspot flashers green or red with silver reflectors, 3 large hotspot flashers, a dozen or so "mooching rigs" I like 4/0-5/0. Go search YouTube for "cut plug herring" and learn to do that. That combination will catch salmon anywhere they exist. You'll use this gear to troll for salmon on days when they are spread out.