Thread: Suggestions for a small boat?

Default Suggestions for a small boat?

Any suggestions of what would be a fine, inexpensive motor boat set-up for shorter trips in PWS, Seward or K-bay etc... for general use, mostly ocean beach camping/hiking and just getting around?

I'm thinking something like a zodiac with an outboard, love to be able to throw it in the truck and not need a trailer. Suggestions on sizes?

Reasonable, safe, and cheap.

Thanks for any input!!
    cheers.

Start looking at the Lund aluminum V hulls and similar. Something in the 16-18ft range w about 40-50 hp. I'm not sure anything that would fit in the back of a pick up would be safe on some of the waters you mentioned (though I'm no expert on that, but there are others here more qualified than I to address that issue). A 14 foot v hull wold carry your camping gear for you and 1-2 others. I don't think a 10 footer or zodiac in the back of a pick up is going to do it for you.

On a side note, there are a hand full Marine State Parks in Western PWS that have beach camping that are possibly accessible by a boat that small. (I mean hey, kayakers go out there.) I'd like to try it in my little boat, but looks scary.

Also, go check out a book titled the Outboard Boaters Handbook. Lot of good ideas and info in there. I love my copy.

Look for a good used 18 foot Klamath. Reasonable priced and good boat if you watch the weather.

My suggestion is that small boats and big water don't go together well. Even with a 22 foot boat you have to pick your weather windows.....smaller? I can't imagine actually going out in PWS, Seward, K-Bay, or any local salt in something that will fit in a bed of a pickup. While those places offer the illusion of protected waters, they can be really nasty. I can't imagine being in a 10 foot boat with a 5 hp motor at Perry Island try to motor back to Whittier in 3 foot seas - which is a common sea. Please get something much more substantial to go out in.