Thread: Can't wait to hunt the new pup. She is doing great

Default Can't wait to hunt the new pup. She is doing great

Today I went and worked the pup with decoys. I sat her while I put out deeks and had her sit quietly after I got a dozen set out I threw a dummy through it and she never even slowed down through the spread. Next I put her in the house threw the dummy into the middle of the decoys then brought her out for a blind retrieve. I sent her and she did stop at a desk or two but immediately realized that wasn't what she was after and found the dummy and brought it back.
    If I was a was a better trainer she could be a fenominal dog but she is doing just great for me... Can't wait to see her work the marsh

How old is the pup now tony, sounds like he is coming along well. You should bring him uphere for the hunt test in mid august and let him get a duck fresh shot for him, good experience. Bud
    Wasilla

That is great Tony, sounds like she is doing very well. Opening day will be here soon enough, she will picking them up before you know it.
    Did you take any pics?

My pup is 10 months old but I don't think we are good enough to be running tests together and that's not her fault. It would be fun but I would have to learn a lot to be able to get her that good. She does OK on hand signals but it's my fault she isn't proficient at them yet I had to take a few weeks off from training but she retained what we learned really well. My week on week off schedule slows things down a bit but I think she will be good to go by the time we hit the marsh.
    Admit I need to start getting pics of her but it's usually just me and her and I forget about it and focus too much on the training to take pics. I think about it all the time but forget when we get to the field.

Tony