Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: conduits & wire

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    NW
    Posts
    191

    Default conduits & wire

    I thought I ask this here but if it's unsuitable, please remove the thread.

    What's the best way to push 3 electrical cables through a continuous 400ft flexible PVC conduit?
    I'm pretty sure I'm not the first human doing this.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    I don't remember what it call maybe, a mouse. It a foam plug with a role of string. Tie the string off, now place the mouse in the pipe and take a tank of high presser air and force the mouse threw the pipe. Now pull a heavy rope threw the pipe follow by the cable. I've also been told a shop vac will work.

    You will also need conduit soap, lots of soap and a come-a-long.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    NW
    Posts
    191

    Default

    Yes, that's the ShopVac/Compressor method.
    Will it work for 400ft of conduit?
    Have you seen or heard of anyone doing it for such a long conduit?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    I guess it would depend on just how big the shop vac/ compressor is. lol

    No, That does not mean anything because I'm not a cable puller at lease not power cable.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Use air pressure and whats called a mouse to pull a string through the conduit, then attach the string to conductors and pull them into the conduit. You can use whatever you want as a mouse. Like a ping pong ball etc something light. The pull string should be light weight yet strong. They make stuff called Mule string thats awsome but I'll bet 500 cord would work just fine.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Why push wires when you can pull? Have you tried finding an electrician's snake that is long enough?

    http://www.licensedelectrician.com/S...FiberSnake.htm

  7. #7
    Member bobmikk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    359

    Default

    No solutions to offer... but curious to the application. 400 feet is a long run for electrical wiring with some serious voltage drop.

  8. #8
    Supporting Member iofthetaiga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tanana Valley AK
    Posts
    7,217

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmikk View Post
    ....curious to the application. 400 feet is a long run for electrical wiring with some serious voltage drop.
    My first thought as well.
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    7 miles west of homer
    Posts
    119

    Default

    You don't say what the size of the wire or conduit is. Regardless you need to insure the wire is unrolled without twists or kinks. same with conduit. Normally the trench keeps the conduit from moving. when you pull your wire through remember how heavy the wire is and plan accordingly with the size of pull line.

  10. #10
    Member akshootnscoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    314

    Default

    You could install pull boxes to shorten the length of each pull. I'm also curious about voltage drop. Make sure your conductors are sized appropriately for ampacity, over current protection, and VD

  11. #11
    Member cod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kenai Peninsula, Ak.
    Posts
    2,213

    Default

    You're talking my expertice. What size conduit? What size wire?
    Your sarcasm is way, waaaayyyyyyyy more sarcastic than mine!

  12. #12
    Member akriverunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    wasilla
    Posts
    506

    Default

    You need a bucket of jetline and a good shop vac, attach mouse specifically sized for your conduit or use a grocery store plastic bag. If your conduit is clean you will have no problem sucking a plastic bag with a shop vac. If you have dirt or rocks in the conduit use an air compressor and blow it out good, water is also an enemy.

  13. #13
    Moderator Paul H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    5,594

    Default

    Are you running 3 individual cables, or a 3 conductor cable? NFPA 70 has a chart for fill size for conduit. If you're thinking about running 3 individual cables in 400' of PVC, you might find it a bit challenging. Definately run a voltage drop calc, you will need to upsize your cable to account for the drop.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

    If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    I have to admit I would like to know WHY someone would do it instead of going overhead?

    The cost is going to be crazy and I'm not sure if you can use normal cable (what ever that is) it will have to be direct burial cable and bury at least 3 ft down.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MacGyver View Post
    I have to admit I would like to know WHY someone would do it instead of going overhead?

    The cost is going to be crazy and I'm not sure if you can use normal cable (what ever that is) it will have to be direct burial cable and bury at least 3 ft down.
    I'm a little to deep if you believe this site http://electrical.about.com/od/wirin...ablelength.htm

  16. #16
    Member cod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kenai Peninsula, Ak.
    Posts
    2,213

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by akriverunner View Post
    You need a bucket of jetline and a good shop vac, attach mouse specifically sized for your conduit or use a grocery store plastic bag. If your conduit is clean you will have no problem sucking a plastic bag with a shop vac. If you have dirt or rocks in the conduit use an air compressor and blow it out good, water is also an enemy.

    Spot on with each sentence written..... Kudos
    Your sarcasm is way, waaaayyyyyyyy more sarcastic than mine!

  17. #17
    Member Arcticwildman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Soldotna
    Posts
    577

    Default

    I don't envy you pulling that run. Doing some basic voltage drop calcs at 3% and 120V per phase and 30A, you are looking at a minimum of 3/0 wire. Go to 50 amps and you need 300 MCM. 100 amps and then you get into the really fun stuff...1000 MCM. This is for aluminum wire as the cost of copper is ridiculous.

  18. #18
    Member akgun&ammo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    980

    Default

    line/conduit lube in a BIG bottle

    line to pull pull wire through

    wire on spool roller to feed without kinkyy stuff

    maybe even use larger conduit to wire diameter

    still, what the application?
    why the need?

    ???

    Chris

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •