Thread: Ninilchik Au 2-8 area fisheries

Default Ninilchik Au 2-8 area fisheries

Long time reader...first time poster. I am going to be staying in Ninilchik from Aug 2-8 and have a few floats booked with a guide on Aug 5-6 but really want to learn about any available fishing opportunities in the Ninilchik area prior to my float trips. I will be bringing my own rods, etc. so no worries there and have already purchased my license online. I am very excited to try some bank fishing near Ninilchik but donít know where to start or what species will be available. Are their Hatchery Only Kings still available in the Ninilchik at that time? Really, I have never been to AK and am really trying to get as much information as possible. I am not a novice fisherman but being from Minnesota I donít get exposure to salmon/trout fishing. I have scoured the ADF&G websites for loads of great information but still have some questions. Any insights would be helpful. I have been reading and hearing from others that Swiftwater and Centennial/Rotary Park in Soldotna may be my best bet but what types/style of fishing should i prepare for?

1. I understand some of the rivers may still hold Reds at this time and the Silvers may be starting at that time but should I concentrate on northern rivers by the Kenai or southern rivers by Homer?
    2. Is the missing adipose fin clearly defined or is this something that might be missed by someone? I am not that concerned but just want to make sure.
    3. Is the Ninilchik river an easy river to access and walk/bank fish?
    4. What are some of the rivers in the Ninilchik area that are productive during this time of year?

What types of lures really are effective this time of year for bank fishing for salmon? Spinners, bobbers, floats and eggs