Thread: The Singing Fisherman of Kasilof, THANK YOU

Default The Singing Fisherman of Kasilof, THANK YOU

Tuesday I was down at the mouth of the Kasilof and in the early evening with both banks full of people doing their best to reap the rewards of this resource, one of the commercial fishermen whose boat was tied up decided to share his talent with us. He came out on the deck, plugged in his amplifier, tuned up his guitar and ask for requests from the crowd on shore. The guy was pretty darned good, and everyone enjoyed it. I have been dipnetting the Kasilof for several years now and this was a first for me. True, some boats will deliberately come in hot just to whizz off the dipnetters and see if they can get them wet, or at least back-up to escape the wave swell, and some dipnetters are just as obnoxious in their own fashion, but there are also folks from both venues that are courteous as well as just plain friendly. Maybe if we can just remember that most of us are just plain folks and capable of being pleasant to each other, it will be a lot more enjoyable for all of us. Maybe we can't do anything about the chronic peckerneckers, but that doesn't mean we can't get along better and enjoy the experience.

I sort of figured I would see something on this posted by someone else, but I haven't as yet, so, let me say thank you to The Singing Fisherman of Kasilof for making an enjoyable interlude for a lot of us -- watch your back Hobo Jim, this guy is good too.

Cool...I hope he is there this week!
    Taxidermy IS art!
    www.alaskawildliferugs.com
    Your mount is more than a trophy, it's a memory. Relive The Memory!

Quote Originally Posted by uhldwm View Post
    Maybe if we can just remember that most of us are just plain folks and capable of being pleasant to each other, it will be a lot more enjoyable for all of us.