Thread: ADS-B, any experts on the matter here?

Default ADS-B, any experts on the matter here?

A friend of mine who runs an FBO and aviation newspaper called today and said he just received notification of his area being mandated to install ADS-B gear by the year 2020. Only a bit over 5 years from now.

I figured there are probably a couple experts on the subject here.
    I am thinking of AK-Hunt who is already very knowledgeable on subjects like locator beacons.

What is your take on the subject? Is it worth while in Alaska, will it drive small owners out of flying with the costs?
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

I'm by no means an expert, but it used to be called Capstone when was being tested in the YK delta.

I remember one rescue i was on where a Grant 206 hit the only rise in terrain within 50 miles of Newtok. He was scud running, and thought that Capstone sent his Xponder alt data to the world. So, he dialed his altimeter up, lying to himself (Capstone uses GPS, not transponder). Hence, he had no idea how low he was.

I think it's a great system if used properly, certainly adds to situational awareness. I however don't think it should be mandated. It's expensive, and as most on here know, not everyone who owns a plane is rich.... Not to mention the technical issues with some planes that lack an electrical system. I haven't priced one recently, but I remember them once costing in excess of $5K. That's going to park a lot of planes.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Some Opinion: It looks like the most sane solution to integrating UAS/UAV's into the NAS. (UAS can't see and avoid...tho some operators will claim they can but I digress....) It comes at our expense, not the UAS community. We are small, small fish and the millions/billions behind UAS progression will likely roll right over us.