Thread: Trolling Outfit

Default Trolling Outfit

I'm new to trolling and was going to check out Cabelas for line counter reels. Then I wondered if I needed a special rod for trolling. Do you need a special rod for downriggers or will any trolling rod work? I have a manual downrigger but haven't put it on the boat yet. I do have an 8'6" Lamiglass Kenai pro baitcaster rated for 30# line and 2 oz lure. Is that suitable? I'd appreciate any suggestions for an outfit that would be serviceable for a newbie without breaking the bank. My neighbor works there and gave me a discount coupon that needs to be used by Sunday...so I better get on it. Thanks for any help!

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Quote Originally Posted by Garyak View Post
    I'm new to trolling and was going to check out Cabelas for line counter reels. Then I wondered if I needed a special rod for trolling. Do you need a special rod for downriggers or will any trolling rod work? I have a manual downrigger but haven't put it on the boat yet. I do have an 8'6" Lamiglass Kenai pro baitcaster rated for 30# line and 2 oz lure. Is that suitable? I'd appreciate any suggestions for an outfit that would be serviceable for a newbie without breaking the bank. My neighbor works there and gave me a discount coupon that needs to be used by Sunday...so I better get on it. Thanks for any help!
    Your Lamiglass will work. True that they do in-fact market "down-rigger" rods, but your standard salmon rods will do just fine.
    Last edited by Frostbitten; 07-18-2014 at 15:12. Reason: typo