Thread: Kachemak Bay Boat

Default Kachemak Bay Boat

A similar question was asked in 2007 but it’s been awhile and I wanted to resurrect the topic with new options out there. What would be your prudent minimum for size and cost (initial and operating) for a dedicated Kachemak Bay boat? The boat would be used to fish, explore, and as transportation across the bay for typically 2 adults and one child, 4 adults and one child max (very rarely). If it only “fishes” 3 max that’s okay. We’d probably live close to the bay so the urge to “push” to get out would not be there…we could pick our days. I think I would like aluminum and a used boat for cost. I have a lot of skiff inland experience…think Lund…but little experience at the helm in the salt. Safety is the most important followed by cost and comfort. I think to get my wife outthere a lot some kind of covering even canvas would help keep her comfortable. Can you use a heater with a canvas top? Thanks!

I think for that use a 20' skiff with a 50 horse would be a prudent minimum. Adding a covering to the helm easily doubles the season you can comfortably operate a boat. I've seen my wife get cold in an open skiff on a sunny 70 deg day, and on the flip side be in the cabin of our boat in a snotty blowing 50 deg day and quite comfortable. I'd consider one of the propane powered little buddies. The one I picked up seems to be just the right size to take the chill off, but honestly I've only used on a cold morning or in the evening to take the chill off. A thermos of coffee or hot coco works wonders under most conditions.

Safety is a tricky term as there are guys that can get in trouble in a 30' ocean boat that could be safely handled by an expert in a 16' skiff. Safety is knowing the limitations of your craft and living within those limitations.