Thread: Thumbs up for Potbuilder

Default Thumbs up for Potbuilder

Finally got to try out Steve's pots in Valdez and simply put, 2 thumbs up. Fish great, sturdy, and for all the newbies out there (like me) Steve is not afraid to share his 20+ years of experience with you. If anyone is interested in starting up or updating pots Steve has my recommendation. My best pull so far 170 shrimp in 3 pots, and yes I'm buying 2 more now. luck all

p.s. yes I counted them, like I said I'm a newbie and it was a lot of fun.

Don't worry I still count them too. I'm experimenting with different pots and setups and keeping records. I still haven't reached any concrete conclusions yet but all pot designs definately do not fish the same.

I count all of them. Its just in my blood!!! I pulled 770 in three pulls this spring and counted every one of them!
    ... aboard the 'Memory Maker' Making Memories one Wave at a Time!

770....so when's the BBQ? can't wait to get some more myself, was a lot of fun and best shrimp I've ever eaten hands down. bearbait I'd be interested in seeing what you come up with, and I agree, they are different based on seeing what the guys I work with are pulling and using.

I am up to 1550 so far this year, not that I am counting or anything. Nice change as last year was pretty lame overall.

Potbuilder, are your pots calapsable? I am in the market to upgrade to calapsable pots here shortly.
    ... aboard the 'Memory Maker' Making Memories one Wave at a Time!

Fishnhunter, I'm still working on some definitive answers from my experiments. I've probably made 30 different pots in many styles with many different entrance types in the last 3 years. The pots are easy and cheap to make once you get a roll of wire. It's fun trying to figure out what works best.

Quote Originally Posted by DMan View Post
    I am up to 1550 so far this year, not that I am counting or anything. Nice change as last year was pretty lame overall.