Thread: Delta Clearwater BOAT RENTAL??

Default Delta Clearwater BOAT RENTAL??

Hoping to float the delta clearwater for a day on our annual grayling trip. Does anybody know of a place to rent a canoe or raft in that area? What about a shuttle? Or is it close enough to jog back? Also, I have very little experience with canoes on moving water. Is the section of the Tanana that you must float to get to clearwater lake intimidating at all? Is it easy to miss the turn off up to the lake? Any advice on all of this would be very appreciated. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by mbrenna View Post
    Hoping to float the delta clearwater for a day on our annual grayling trip. Does anybody know of a place to rent a canoe or raft in that area? What about a shuttle? Or is it close enough to jog back? Also, I have very little experience with canoes on moving water. Is the section of the Tanana that you must float to get to clearwater lake intimidating at all? Is it easy to miss the turn off up to the lake? Any advice on all of this would be very appreciated. Thanks!
    Well, I just don't know of any rental outfits other than the military bases near Fairbanks. Ft Wainwright will have a wider selection. Maybe BlueMoose can help??

With regards to the float, I've never been there without a powerboat. I've got many, many hours on that river chasing grayling and coho, but I've only ever tooled around a bit near the mouth...never made the journey to the lake. I did find this thread below, and I hope it helps.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...earwater+float

As a final note, if your trip takes you to DCW in mid-July, send me a PM and perhaps I can take ya'll out on my jet boat. I'll be there regardless!
    "Live that the fear of death can never enter your heart. Show respect to all and grovel to none. Seek to make your life long and its purpose in the service of your people."