Thread: How long to dry spruce poles

Default How long to dry spruce poles

How long should Spruce be stored to dry before working with it?

I recently cut three White Spruce trees, each 4-5 inches in diameter and about 15 ft long for the purpose of building a sailboat mast, yard, and boom. Sometime in the next few weeks, I will strip all the bark and paint the ends before placing them in a connex for the winter.

How long do I need to let them dry before I can start working them down into my finished product. I would like to start working on them as soon as possible (I have to reduce their diameter to 2" tapering down to 1-1/2") but I don't know what an appropriate time frame is. This is my first time working with harvested raw materials.

You would be better to let them dry before working on them if they warp any then your finished product will be warped. If you let them dry then you will be able to produce a straight product.

Quote Originally Posted by Big Bend View Post
    You would be better to let them dry before working on them if they warp any then your finished product will be warped. If you let them dry then you will be able to produce a straight product.
    Right. So my question is how long is long enough. To be "dry"?

That is hard to say if you get the bark off and put them in a covered area so that the air can move over and around them it will speed it up. Also support them so as to lessen the chance for them to bend or warp. I don't think that there is a answer for that it will depend on how the weather is and where they are stored. The connex will help hold the moisture in with out circulation.

This site has some interesting information that may guide you. I had never heard of soaking the tree in salt water to allow for the salt to speed up drying times! Good luck with it.

http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_bas...oat_masts.html