Thread: New Outdrive Options

Default New Outdrive Options

I currently have a 1984 Bayliner 2860 (28' long with 10' beam). I repowered it with a 6.0L Marine Power back in 2008 but I did not replace the outdrive. The motor has approximately 400 hours on it now. I currently have an old Volvo outdrive 270 (I think) that was converted to a duo-prop sometime before I bought the boat in 2004. Because it is the "old style" outdrive with the electric lift motor and starting to wear out I think I am ready to have a new outdrive installed.
    I wish I would have replaced the outdrive when I repowered, but didn't.

What do I need to know before taking the plunge to have a new outdrive installed? I am looking for suggestions on which outdrive, gear ratio and etc. Is it safe to buy a remanufactured outdrive or should I go new.

Any idea of how much my boat weighs? I am not a mechanic so I am really looking for suggestions on where to start.

The boat lives in Prince Williams Sound in Alaska and in salt water for about six-seven months a year.

Thanks,
    Rod

Rod,