Thread: I Think My Taxidermist Is Getting Senile...

Default I Think My Taxidermist Is Getting Senile...

I wasn't going to post this but its been bugging the crap out of me. I have been using the same Taxidermist for over 20 years now with no complaints but my last experience was total BS. I brought him a Grizzly to have made into a rug, the skin was in premo condition (fleshed, paws out, ears turned, exc. exc. exc.). He measured it and we agreed upon a price. Just recently I got a call to pick up my bear and he charged an extra $200 for fleshing and charged for the finished length of a stretched rug. I was pissed, I told him there's no way in hell I'm paying for the fleshing but he stuck to his guns charging for the finished length, not the green length we agreed upon. He stated that this has always been his policy but it wasn't on the previous 4 rugs I've had him do. Is this common practice now? Needless to say I've found a new Taxidermist... Rant over

Based on many of the reports I read on taxidermists I'd pay the higher prices if your confident in his work, at least you were getting your own stuff back how you wanted it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by limon32 View Post
    Based on many of the reports I read on taxidermists I'd pay the higher prices if your confident in his work, at least you were getting your own stuff back how you wanted it?
    Actually, the quality of his work isn't what it used to be either. Very disappointed

#1 rule, get all contractual agreements in writing. One of the biggest mistakes people make in all aspects of life. Sorry to hear about the issue though it sounds like you have moved on to greener pastures.

Quote Originally Posted by Laker Taker View Post
    Actually, the quality of his work isn't what it used to be either. Very disappointed