Thread: New (to me). Scott Albany

Default New (to me). Scott Albany

So the girlfriend bought a Subaru down in Oregon, just so happens there was a Scott Albany on craigslist. Needless to say I swooped it up as fast as I could dial the number. The downside is there is a small crack along the bottom that I will have to repair, which I wasn't informed of when we had talked on the phone. I have no experience working with fiberglass so it kind of worries me but I couldn't pass it up for the price. What size motors does everyone run on their albanys? I was thinking a 9.9 but I am curious of running a 15 on it, good idea or bad? Any advice for repairing it would be greatly appreciated as well!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Well I just got back into town and have been looking and searching through past posts trying to find info about actually making repairs on these canoes and have yet to find anything specific. If anyone could at least direct me to a place somewhere in anchorage where I could get some help figuring out what product to use and maybe some tips so I don't screw it up I would really appreciate it.

I have an Albany. Great find. What motor can depend on a few things, including your own lifting ability, if you're going to lift your canoe's motor, 2 stroke vs. 4, and more.

The short story is I've got a Tohatsu 15 4 stroke and it does work very well for me. A phone call might be a good way to help more than that.

Here's what FM's Albany canoe looks like when he loans it out:

Quote Originally Posted by AKSasquatch View Post
    Well I just got back into town and have been looking and searching through past posts trying to find info about actually making repairs on these canoes and have yet to find anything specific. If anyone could at least direct me to a place somewhere in anchorage where I could get some help figuring out what product to use and maybe some tips so I don't screw it up I would really appreciate it.