Thread: Fishing Out of Whittier

Default Fishing Out of Whittier

OK, ran the boat out of Whittier last weekend for shrimpies and a little fishing for 'buts and rockfish. We dropped our pots at the falls and took off for Culross Passage. We fished on the S side of Crafton Island on a sandy bottom. After about 4 hours of fishing, we picked up 4 chickens from 5 of us fishing. We moved down to the South side of Chenaga and fished about an hour and a half with zip, nada, niente to show for it.

Q: Are we still too far north in the Sound for halibut this time of year? This is my first year fishing out of Whittier, and I have to say it's a lot slower than my experiences out of Homer and Seward. I did not mark any baitfish in the water out there, which is usually where I focus a lot of my fishing efforts.

We did pick up a couple of pretty copper rockfish on the way back, along with some other rockfish I didn't even recognize - almost looked like a type of cod with turquoise spots. Oh yeah, the shrimp pots yielded only about 2 dozen shrimp, 3 octopi, and the largest 10 legged starfish I've ever seen. Wonder how you cook those?

I appreciate any feedback, advice, help I can get, the sound is a pretty big place (not to mention impressive too! - If I can start finding fish there, I don't know if I want to go all they way to Homer or even to Seward, as they don't compare to the Sound).

Cheers,

SH

I have fished for "Butt" around Lone Island. This is my second season in PWS. I have been told you have to fish deeper than Cook Inlet, around 300-400 ft and concentrate on "shelves.

Still trying to figure things out too.

ALASKAN SEA-DUCTION
    1988 M/Y Camargue YachtFisher
    MMSI# 338131469
    Blog: http://alaskanseaduction.blogspot.com/

Default type of LING cod with turquoise spots