Thread: Bear Baiting/hunting

Default Bear Baiting/hunting

I have not had the opportunity to set a bait station this year but I have did some hunting for black bears in the white mountains, Olnas pond area, and Chena hot springs area with no success. I am looking for any pointers to bear hunting or any good areas I can scent or set a barrel. Just recently hung scent rags in Olnas Pond area and hunted over them for 3 days with absolutely no sign. I have been hunting black bears for 3 years now with no luck I feel like I am doing something wrong. Any help would be great

Scent with no bait seems like a tough go, bears are extremely nocturnal so they probably checked your scent tag while you were sleeping. With no food for them they have no reason to stick around or come back.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by armydoc4 View Post
    I have not had the opportunity to set a bait station this year but I have did some hunting for black bears in the white mountains, Olnas pond area, and Chena hot springs area with no success. I am looking for any pointers to bear hunting or any good areas I can scent or set a barrel. Just recently hung scent rags in Olnas Pond area and hunted over them for 3 days with absolutely no sign. I have been hunting black bears for 3 years now with no luck I feel like I am doing something wrong. Any help would be great
    Find a person with a bait who will let you hunt with them.

Quote Originally Posted by armydoc4 View Post

If you have hung scent rags and are bear hunting over them then you ARE Bear Baiting and need to register it as a bait station and follow all the Bear Baiting rules. Olnas Pond is a campground, gotta be at least a mile away.

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/regulations/wildliferegulations/pdfs/bear_baiting_regs.pdf

You MAY: