Thread: Moaning & Groaning and thanks.....

Default Moaning & Groaning and thanks.....

I have been playing on the Kenai for almost 50 years and have lived in Kenai for 34 years. I hope some good comes out of the recent fire. Last fall I made my first trip to the Caribou Hills since the big fire there. I started hunting there in 1990 and was blessed with a bunch of success over the years. Most of the burn area looks like a sea of grass to me, what eats that grass? Maybe it will turn into moose browse some day, maybe this last fire will. The moose hunting is sorry again on the Kenai and will stay that way for a long time. Bear hunting is really good if you are a good hunter and in good physical condition. Darn brown bear sow and 2 cubs came through again a few days ago and the 3 moose calves that I knew of are gone. Since I am retiring June 30th I will be able to spend more time in interior Alaska where I can leave a big carbon foot print and many tire tracks. So many trails and new areas to see. My wife and I are in our 60's now and we rely more on the ATV's then we used to. The best memories of my hunting career are moose hunts and sneaking down trails on a frosty morning with her, we can still do that. The King fishing here is sorry and controlled by the most influential user groups and the heck with what is best for the rivers and the King's. I sold our big boat 3 years ago and we will do the charter thing a couple of times a year. I would move to the interior but the daughter's family is a couple hundred yards from us and my wife would miss them to much if we moved, so would I. So it looks like a big fuel bill is forever in my future as we drive to where we hope to find moose and caribou. I am really going to enjoy the freedom retirement gives on time restraints. Thank you God for countless blessings!