Thread: Sheep horn growth?

Default Sheep horn growth?

I've got a question for you sheep experts out there. Just curious if the bad winters the last couple years effect the growth of rams horns much? And how about on years such as this one where the weather has been mild? Do they experience better growth in these years? Are the biggest rams killed during a succession of mild winters? Or can you expect to see good rams harvested after a few hard winters in a row?

I am no sheep expert, but I can throw in that last winter was far from bad.

Hearing some of the experts speak about horn growth, they say that nutritional intake plays a part in horn growth.

not being an expert, I'd guess that bad summers are what really screws things up. At the recent presentation that Brian helped arrange, the speaker mentioned that dry summers are bad for vegetation and thus for the sheep as well.

No expert either but from what I've gathered, sheep horns pretty much stop growing in the winter regardless of how easy or bad the winter is. This is how the rings develop. I'd have to agree with oakman. Good nutrition the rest of the year means good horn growth....
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

here is a bunch of sciency stuff about sheep horn growth. Lots of math, way too early in the AM for that kind of stuff.

Dont forget about Heimer's old book. There is supposed to be a copy in ARLIS, but I have never made my way there to read it.

Heimer's book can be found in the libraries of many colleges, one may be near you.

Quote Originally Posted by 4merguide View Post
    No expert either but from what I've gathered, sheep horns pretty much stop growing in the winter regardless of how easy or bad the winter is. This is how the rings develop. I'd have to agree with oakman. Good nutrition the rest of the year means good horn growth....
    True. Horn growth is mainly influence by homone levels, in particular testosterone.