Thread: Kodiak brown bear....rifle?

Default Kodiak brown bear....rifle?

So I was lucky enough to draw DB291....the "hard" part!! I have a nice 7MM mag, however I am looking into a .338 Lapua and was wondering what you guys think? Is the 7MM good enough or should I consider the .338 Lapua or Maybe a different cal?

Every .338 Lapua I've been around would be a pain to haul around! I'm no expert, that was just the first thing that came to mind!

A bit more info on how you plan to hunt would help, guided, no guide, alone, with backup???

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think everyone that draws a Kodiak tag needs to buy a new rifle,, I did.

Congrats and good luck!
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I plan on doing a fly in self guided hunt, I will have a buddy with a buck up gun for sure. Prob will be doing a lot of hiking and packing around as I look for a bear.

I second what limon32 said- all of the .338 Lapuas I've seen weigh something like 12-14 pounds before you stick a scope on it.

For that type hunting a nice .375H&H or .375 Ruger would be tough to beat.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit

Thanks for the information everyone, I will start changing gears and looking into it.

IMHO neither choice is what I would take to Kodiak to hunt big bears. The 7mag while high in velocity comes up short on projectile weight, the 338 Lapua and the 7 mag as well are more long range type calibers and for me bear hunting is a close up affair. I would rather shoot my 375H&H all day over a 338, every 338 I ever shot beat me like I owed it money.
    Founding Member