Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No Bears

Default No Bears

I have been running a stand out in PWS for about 8 years now. Always bears there and have taken quite a few. This year I put the bait in about 4 weeks ago. And so far, 1 deer. Trail cam has nothing on it. Eagle, raven.... me.

A friend is using my other stand about 1/2 mile down the beach. We have about 190 photos of one 6 foot, rubbed out bear. And that is it. One only.

It is baffling me the lack of bears. It is just not normal.

I have an airman coming in Friday to hunt for two days. So tonight or tomorrow I am going to do a jelly burn and see what happens.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Very slow for us as well..

No bears yet at our usual location in 16. Had a friend take a very nice bear up above us though..Hopefully will heat up in very short order.

I'm headed down for a week to look for one for the wife. Hope they are just sleeping in.
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Quote Originally Posted by shimano 33 View Post
    Very slow for us as well..

No bears yet at our usual location in 16. Had a friend take a very nice bear up above us though..Hopefully will heat up in very short order.
    Same for us. I had come to a conclusion that there must be another bait/food source nearby that the bears like better, but hearing that a lot of guys are experiencing the same thing, now I don't know what to think. We have 1-2 bears hitting our site about once every three to four days...makes it pretty tough to pattern them.

I am close enough to the shoreline that any bear walking the edge should smell the bait. It is just odd. Tomorrow is jelly burn day. So we will see what happens.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012