Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2000 Tundra R

Default 2000 Tundra R

I just got a barley used Tundra, something like 20 hrs on it. Its my first machine. What can I say, I'm a newbie.

I did my research and most people thought it was a good deal.

The question is:

Any upgrades I should look into? Wider skis? Or what?

Ski skins are nice if you intend to ride in deep snow. I never put expensive plastic skis on mine since the skis represented about 1/3 of the total price for the machine. You might consider keeping a spare primer pump in the tool kit. Mine had a habit of drying out the O rings and not pumping gas. I changed it many times in order to get my machine started. It's easy and quick to do. Maybe other guys don't experience that problem but I sure did.

MBRP can, C&A pro skis, boss seat, VForce Reeds .....just kidding!! What kind of upgrades are you looking for? Stuff for trapping or what?

Default plans

I have plans for some skins. And a gun boot bracket. I will be doing some experimental trapping on it. Mostly I will be using it to get to some cabins out the the white mountains and seeing some country that is unaccessible in the summer.

One thing it doesn't have in hand warmers and I was wondering if it is very hard to add those. If anyone has any experience with that let me know.

If anyone has any ideas on common failure points on these machines that I can prepare for it would be nice.

Does anyone have a favorite cargo sled they like to pull?

handwarmers are pretty easy to add. You just need to buy a universal kit. they will work good as long as you have fairly thing handgrips. I am assuming you are in the interior. I would go talk to Al at The Sled Shop on Dawson in north pole. He's a pretty good guy and better to deal with than most of the dealers in fairbanks.

As far as sleds go, check out this thread started by Alaska_Lanche. Lots of good info!

Default Tundra Mods

Ive trapped on tundras for years. Heres what I recommend.