Thread: Kodiak Bear Hunt Journal

Thumbs up Kodiak Bear Hunt Journal

Howdy All,
    It's finally happened. I drew a Kodiak Bear tag which was right at the top of my bucket list. I have been hunting for over 40 years and wish I had kept better track of my time in the field. It would sure have been nice to be able to look back at my first hunt with my grandpa shooting my first animal (Other than with my old Wrist Rocket slingshot) a Jack Rabbit in the Mojave Desert of Ca.
    My grandpa who now looks down from the heavens was the one who got me into hunting. Way back he was in Law Enforcement in Nome and Fairbanks, he would tell me stories of him hunting in Alaska which had such an impact on my young mind that I knew this is the place I wanted to spend my Life. It took me a while, but have been here since 06.
    Just like Grampa and his stories, I found the Outdoors Directory a place of excitement looking through all the forums and listening to everyone's adventures.
    To document my hunt and share with others, I thought I would start a journal of my soon to be adventure for others to enjoy or even chuckle at. In a couple days (Friday April 18) I will start to post my planning and experiences as I count down the week before I leave Anchorage.
    The cool thing is with today's technology documenting such an adventure is made easier. I will have along a GoPro Black Edition, A Nikon DSLR with HD Video as well as my old standby little Canon digital video camera. Till Friday
    Mods, if you have a better place to put this, feel free to move it.
    Fish IT! Hunt IT! or *#%@ IT!

Excellent! Looking forward to following along with you, Bob. My grandfather kept a hunting journal that dates back into the 30's, and I intend to put together something similar for my children.

Good luck on your hunt!

I am heading over to Kodiak on May 1st for my bear hunt. Luckily my BIL has a 28' landing craft. We are going to be in the Hidden Basin area.
    Good luck on your hunt!!