Thread: Best way for newbie to become boating competent in ocean

Default Best way for newbie to become boating competent in ocean

I have some river boating experience and have crewed on sailboats, but have very little in the way of ocean power boat experience.

I am currently in the market for an ocean boat (20'-30') and in preparation have done some basic online boating safety courses with intro to navigation, tides, currents etc. Other than getting on the water and putting in the hours to earn my stripes, any advice on recommended courses or reading to get me ready with boating safety as the primary concern?

Thanks,

mhk

Best "course" is to pick a waterway to get to know, then spend time on it with the "teacher" that knows it well. Following that, bring your boat along and shadow the teacher in his for a trip or two. There's just so much local knowledge that never makes it into brick and mortar classrooms, and so much theory and generalization that sails right over the head of reality.

The Whittier CG Aux usually offers a boating safety and seamanship course in the spring. It's taught by Alaskans, focuses on Alaskan waters, and it's cheap. There is a wealth of knowledge shared by local boaters, and they touch on many of the topics you're interested in learning. They even present some basics for knot tying and radio communication. The casual break-time conversations can be really valuable, as well.

If nothing else, get with some forum members and see what they do to get their boats ready for the season. Feel free to PM me with your phone number. I like talking about boats.

Get to know the waters you'll be in. By that I mean to find the protected waters depending on wind direction. I read "the cruising guide to Prince William Sound". Weather can change quickly, so prepare for the worst, but hope for the best.