Thread: Roof Framing

Default Roof Framing

Hey folks. Question on roofing.

I have a "tent platform" (8' x 12' or 3 sheets of plywood) on 2 x 8 joists with 4x4 posts on all four corners (looks like a giant 4 post bed) that I want to add roofing to to make it into more of a pavillion and give it some extra rain protection. Problem is, I've never built a roof or roof trusses before.

What is the best way to go about this? Can I just build a triangle truss on each short end connected by a 12' ridge beam and start lining up my roofing on top? I'm using 8' x 3' strips of corrugated, galvanized metal roofing salvaged from a shed and carport back in FL.

How/where are your 4x4 posts attached at the bottom corners? Sunk in ground with concrete? Bottoms of 4x4s bolted to the 2x8 rim joists for the sub flooring?

Several way to go about it, IMO. Based off just the info you provided and assuming you just want some basic framing to hold the tin roofing material. I would bolt 2x6 boards around the top perimeter of the 4x4 post on the outside of the posts. Them with 2x4s I would build the basic trusses. See link below. Just the basic truss design. Guy in link does it right with glueing and screwing the gusset plates. With a 12' long span and only tin roofing on top you should be find with trusses spaced at only 24" OC providing you don't have much snow or wind loads. If you need/want a bit more strength or less chance of the trusses bowing over time or decide to roof it with 1/2" plywood and composite shingles then maybe use 2x6 material.

The trusses will sit on top of the 2x6 boards bolted to the top of the 4x4 posts. Once the trusses are in place you can run 1x4 or 2x4 across the trusses for a nailing surface for the tin rooing.