Thread: Muzzle Brake on Kimber MT 280ai?

Default Muzzle Brake on Kimber MT 280ai?

Has anyone that has a Kimber MT installed a muzzle brake on it? Today at the range I was shooting off my lead sled and the rifle shot very nice groups but when I started shooting off of sand bags and not holding the barrel down it was all over the place. I was also shooting a Winchester extreme weather in 325 wsm both on the lead sled and also off bags and it continuously shot perfectly as it always has...I know the kimber barrel has more of a tendency to heat up and I allowed the barrel to cool down for 5 minutes between shots but it was definitely much more "whippy" than the 325 which has more of a thump style kick, thinking a brake will help this but am curious as to how much and if others have experience with similar rifles?

Thanks

Very light rifles usually require a bit more finesse when shooting from the bench. With my light Kimbers, I have best results by pulling front sandbag back so it's under the front action screw. I then grip forearm ahead of sandbag......I hope this helps.

Vern

I had a sub 6lb rifle in .280. For me, a muzzle brake was never an option. I just realized its limitations and worked around them.
    Were the first three shots what I wanted? If so, good to go. I wasn't looking for repeated accuracy, just hunting accuracy. Pretty much the nature of the beast for really light rifles.
    When working up loads, I found working with the lower velocities kept the barrel whip down. My accuracy in that rifle suffered when I started pushing things, even though there were no pressure issues.
    i sold that rifle, and am toying with building up a new light weight mountain rifle in 7-08 or .308. Seems to me that short actions are the way to go in really light weight rifles.
    Never wrestle with a pig.
    you both get dirty;
    the Pig likes it.

limbsaver barrel de resonator !!!!