Thread: New Alaskan, New Sheep Hunter

Default New Alaskan, New Sheep Hunter

Hi Folks,

I'm new to AK. I've been reading everything I can get my hands on about sheep hunting in AK. I just watched "Lace 'Em Up". I met Scott Leuber at the Sportsman Show in Wasilla. He's a great guy and I really enjoyed his video. I'm pumped and want to go sheep hunting this fall. I still don't have much of an idea where to go. I have a Stinson that is setup for bush flying. Is there any place a person could fly in, tie the airplane down, setup a base camp and then go hunting? I'm 60 and my knees aren't what they used to be so I'm hoping I can get a little closer to the sheep with the airplane. I'm not asking for coordinates to your favorite secret spot, but I need some direction as far as where to look. I'm willing to do research but so far, I'm coming up empty. I'm also willing to work at it and do scouting ahead of time. I'd also be willing to team up with the right person. I live at Anderson Lake between Palmer and Wasilla.

Russ

Russ I'd say look over the regs. Find a harvest ticket area that's within range of your plane and budget. Go on google earth and start looking for runways, then avoid them. They'll be full. Then come early July start flying some areas for kicks and giggles and stare out the window. As far as sheep hunting goes there is no stone unturned in alaska. So many planes and horses an hardcore sheep hunters. I'd random a guess it's all been hit and nowhere is a secret. Fly till ya find a pretty spot you like and be there early for the opener!
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

power commuting twixt the valley and anchorage

Elliotruss,