Thread: Clam gun or shovel?

Default Clam gun or shovel?

Ok I am new to clamming. We are going to take a trip to Polly Creek this summer and am wondering what to take. A gun or a shovel? Your thoughts?

Gun, heading down tomorrow!!

gun for sure. If they are shallow though I can get em quicker with a shovel.

Remember - they are a whole lot easier to clean IF you do NOT break the shell..........

If you pull up too hard and fast with a gun you will break the shell. If you do not center them right with a gun you will break the shell.

I like to have one of each with me. I do like the gun better though. Once you get the gun figured out it seems to me it is a bit faster.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

How does pulling up hard and fast break the shell? Too many times I know I've centered the hole in the gun and went straight down, but somehow ended up breaking the shell.

Quote Originally Posted by Bullelkklr View Post
    gun for sure. If they are shallow though I can get em quicker with a shovel.

Remember - they are a whole lot easier to clean IF you do NOT break the shell..........

If you pull up too hard and fast with a gun you will break the shell. If you do not center them right with a gun you will break the shell.

Vacuum. It puts too much vacuum on the thin shell when you pull it fast and hard and it breaks the shell. You can tell for sure when you got him in the center of the plug, but his/her (hermaphrodites) shell is cracked up. You are pulling too hard and too fast.

Quote Originally Posted by Bullelkklr View Post
    Vacuum. It puts too much vacuum on the thin shell when you pull it fast and hard and it breaks the shell. You can tell for sure when you got him in the center of the plug, but his/her (hermaphrodites) shell is cracked up. You are pulling too hard and too fast.