Thread: Staying on Trail River between Lower Trail lake and Kenai Lake

Talking Staying on Trail River between Lower Trail lake and Kenai Lake

I will be spending a week at a cabin on Trail River between Lower Trail lake and Kenai Lake Aug 19 to 25th.

I have lots of experience fly fishing for smaller trout, but I really want to try for steelhead in this area.

Any tips for great fishing in or close to Trail River?

I was unaware there were any steelhead in that area.
    I know the Kenai river does not have a known resident steelhead population though there are a few reported cases of them being caught there.
    Should be a fun trip wish I had some advice for you.
    Good luck!
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

The only steelhead runs on the Kenai peninsula is south of soldotna. Seward area has no steelhead. However trail river/ lake does have lake trout, folly varden, and resident rainbow trout. Ptarmigan creek has dollies and rainbows too but not very big ones. Mostly under 16"

Release Lake Trout

Quote Originally Posted by Hunt&FishAK View Post
    The only steelhead runs on the Kenai peninsula is south of soldotna. Seward area has no steelhead. However trail river/ lake does have lake trout, folly varden, and resident rainbow trout. Ptarmigan creek has dollies and rainbows too but not very big ones. Mostly under 16"
    That works for me!
    Is the fishing better late Aug in the lake or river?

Do most people use fly rods or other methods in the area?

Quote Originally Posted by Superdave23 View Post
    That works for me!
    Is the fishing better late Aug in the lake or river?

Do most people use fly rods or other methods in the area?