Thread: As newbie as they come-seeking advice

Default As newbie as they come-seeking advice

I am new to boating and am jumping in big time. As a pilot, I got kinda tired of not seeing things upclose like you can with a boat, so I bought a 1987 Koffler Lite 18' with 40hp johnson two stroke. I immediately replaced motor with brand new yamaha T50 ( high thrust). I am now finishing up a total refurb. All new wiring, new weatherproof fuse block, new seats, refinished flooring, new windshield motor, new new new. It's got a enclosed bow, walk through windshield, full canvas enclosure. And now the questions- do any of you think this boat is capable of day cruising Prince William Sound safely? (Previous owner has decals from Seward and Homer so I know it can be done). It's got a single battery, should Install a second? I'll post pics soon and I will have more questions too. Thanks in advance for any guidance, wisdom, etc.

I am not familiar with the lite model. Is this a flat bottom sled? A flat bottomed river boat has no business out there IMO. If it is similar to the Baybee I wouldn't hesitate to make day trips if you watch the water forecasts. I ran an 18' Klamath all over the Sound back when we had to load our boats on the train. Bring gear just in case you need to wait the weather out.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Default This is my new boat

image.jpg
    Sorry the pic is sideways. Posted from my iPad. This is my new boat.

It will beat you up in chop but it can be done. Just note what was mentioned and bring survival gear and study the weather patterns and know that Wells Passage can be an absolute monster to cross at any given time depending on tide and winds. You will be better off on an average day in Seward inside the bay but it doesn't sound like that is what you are after.

Heavy Hitter Fishing
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Heavy...54441957966186

Kodiak Custom Fishing Tackle Pro-Staff