Thread: Alaska lessons and rentals for a military pilot

Default Alaska lessons and rentals for a military pilot

Howdy,

I'm new in Alaska, here to fly fighters out of JBER. I have ZERO general aviation experience, but about 350 hours (plus at least 1000 hrs sim) in high performance single engine turboprops and multi-engine low bypass turbofans. I do understand that this type of flying is very different from GA flying. I plan on taking the FAA military competency exam which will give me my SEL, MEL Commerical certificate (I think I'm saying that right).

Here's the deal. I want to get qualified in an airplane that is relatively fun, relatively inexpensive, and can carry up to 4 people, so that when family and friends come in town I can show them around Alaska. I also want to take enough lessons that I can appreciate the unique challenges in civilian aviation, and get familiar with the Alaskan local area and its unique weather/terrain/airspace risks.

Anyone have any recommendations for (1) instructors/schools and (2) types of aircraft to rent and where to rent them?

Thanks for any help.

You should go visit the Aero Club over on the Elmendorf side. The rental and instruction rates are alright and they are located right there on base.

jhamme4 hit the nail on the head. Definitely look into the aero club on base. They even have a 172 on floats you can get checked out in http://www.jberaeroclub.com/

The best tail-wheel bush flying instructor is Jay Baldwin up in Palmer.
    The best float-plane instructor is me.
    The Aero Club is a good option due to your geographic location, although being connected to the A.F. presents its own set of delays and paperwork.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com