Thread: Ivory tusk reproductions

Default Ivory tusk reproductions

I have a question for R.J., or any of the other taxidermists on board. That was a very nice and impressive elephant mount R.J. posted on the other thread (Fairbanks Taxidermist) and I am curious whether you reproduced the elephant's own tusks or used reproductions that are commercially available from Jonas Brothers or McKenzie. I have to assume that the elephant's own ivory could not be used for the mount.

The reason I am asking is because I have a couple of narwhal tusks and also some walrus ivory I would like to reproduce. I have done reproductions of bear claws but nothing as large as a tusk. Can you offer some insight? I am an amateur, working in my own garage, and these would be for my personal use.

I hope I do not appear to be asking for trade secrets, although that is probably what I am doing (insert sheepish smiley face). That other, well known, taxidermy discussion group has a lot of information regarding antler reproductions but nothing specific about ivory.

It can be done with a little planning and research online for ideas. One good place to start is here: http://www.smooth-on.com/

There are a lot of videos and pictorial explanations of the various processes. They also have helpful folks who can steer you toward the best stuff for your intended project.

Also, do an on-line search for "casting antlers", "casting horns", etc. There are a lot of good ideas and videos.

Finally, here's a link to a taxidermy forum that is focused on "Casting and Molding". http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php?board=12.0

Experiment with a few smaller projects first, as the materials are not cheap.

Good luck.

Wolf,

Thanks for that reply. I found everything I need at smooth-on.

Dan

Hi Dan,
    Sorry it took so long to reply back. Been Busy in the shop.

Anyways, Yes I have cast Several Elephant tusks, Hippo, & even Warthog Tusks using the same methods.