Thread: Questions on fishing the Situk?

Default Questions on fishing the Situk?

For my friend's bachelor party we are talking about flying down to the Situk and do some fishing. Looking for any advice on where to stay, do we float the river or walk it from the road, any considerations as far as what we need to bring, recommended services etc. Thanks in advance.

Steve

alaskariverguy

Been to the Situk many times, itís a great river. My advice would be to stay at the Glacier Bear Lodge, itís not the Hilton but the food is good and the rooms above average at a good price. Personally I like to drift the river, the opportunities for fishing alone in your own hole are much better than walking in and being in a crowd. If you want a guided trip contact Ron DeNardi @ 907-784-3301, he has been guiding on the river for several years and is very good (I have been fishing with him for 20 years in CA and AK).
    If you plan to drift on your own boats are available for rent from GBL and the Yakutat Lodge. Itís a long river (15 miles) from put in (Nine Mile Bridge) to take out and unless you row very often I would recommend bringing a small outboard 5-15 hp to speed up the trip. I have a ton of info so if you are looking for more detailed info PM me. Iíll be up there myself between 6/22 and 6/29 with a large group. There is also great halibut fishing there and Ron can hook you up for that too, he has a 26 footer for ocean fishing as well as his river pram.
    This is a pix on the Situk with Ron's river pram in the background:

DD

Situk = Best river ever
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Default Do we bring our raft?

Was thinking about bringing the 16' cataraft and floating down from the lake or would it be better to rent a boat and run up the river?