Thread: Jig making safety

Default Jig making safety

I've been melting lead and making jigs for 2 years now. I have a north respirator and am wondering which cartridges to use. I was originally thinking the hepas but had a buddy tell me they were wrong. Any one have any knowledge on this?

post this in saltwater fishing and you'll get more answers

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

Shoot i thought that's where I was. Maybe a mod will see it and move it

Well this is a subject I know well. I have made thousands of jigs and I have thousands of hours wearing respirators including in heavy lead enviroments.
    First off a respirator is not always required. Proper ventilation is a must though. As is proper hygeine such as hand washing and not eating, smoking, drinking, or using chewing tobacco while working with lead.
    I wear FRC coveralls only used for making jigs as well as safety glasses leather, footwear, leather gloves and often times a faceshield.
    The other thing you need to be fully aware of is the temp of your lead. I Always use a thermometer in my pot. I made a bracket to hold my thermometer near the side of the pot. If you keep your lead below 900*f you should not have it giving off excessive toxic fumes or many fumes at all for that matter.
    That is for clean lead.
    I run my lead between 650*f and 750*f. Any hotter and I turn the temp down quickly.
    I always melt scrap outside and if it is dirty such as wheel weights I let it go for longer than needed to melt the scrap to burn off all of those contaminants. I make sure the wind is blowing the fumes away from my house and anybody else including your neighbors if you have close ones.
    Then I flux it with Beeswax and stir it while the wax is burning. Your wax should burn while fluxing as this will draw up the excess dross trapped in your lead.