Thread: How is bear meat?

Default How is bear meat?

Living in northern southeast Alaska, we have plenty of brown bears here; but no black bears where I am at. There is a lot of brown bear hunting that takes place here but only the skull/hide/claws etc. are harvested. I don't know anyone who eats brown bear. I know a lot of black bear hunters (If not most?) harvest all of the above plus the meat. I have heard black bear is actually very good meat, while brown bear is pretty unpalatable. Just curious on what you all think about bear meat (black bear, or brown if you have tried it!), since I have no experience with it. Thanks!

Black bear is excellent if they aren't eating fish. Get them on the berries and it is absolutely delicious.

Life is too short to pass up a day of hunting

I think a lot of the bad rep brown bear meat gets has to come from folks who have tried to eat fish-eaters. I've had the backstrap from a brown bear sow a friend shot in interior AK, far from the salmon runs. She was a spring bear, and had been eating berries, greens etc. It was some of the best meat I've ever eaten. No gamey flavor, extremely tender - perfect.

The key is how you handle the meat. Keep it clean and cool. If you can hardly handle the stench while skinning the bear, that's a good sign the meat isn't going to be very good. My friend who gave me the backstrap from his brownie said there was no smell at all while he was skinning her.

I shot a black bear a few years ago that hadn't been in the fish, and it was also excellent. Believe it or not though, I actually think the brown bear my friend gave me was even better. I'd take either one over beef any day.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.