Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: From Seward to Valdez

Default From Seward to Valdez

Im new to the salt water, I just bought my 3288 located at Seward and will be bringing her to Valdez in the spring! Does anyone k.ow how long this will take and when the best time to do this? I was thinking early June? Please clue me in!!

A quick n dirty path on google earth is 175-200 miles. That size of boat I'd say the best time is when you can do the most fishing.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea

If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

June should be fine, just pick your weather days and have some cushion room in your schedule if weather moves in. Of course mid-end of May is good bear hunting as well.

Congrats on the new boat. You could do it in 2 days if you really wanted to just get there and had smooth water. I'd turn that into a 5-7 day trip if I were you and had a boat like that. Have fun and do some exploring. Get the Lethcoe's Cruising Guide. Mid-May through mid-July is the best time for flat(ter) water and better weather.
    "Fishing relaxes me. It's like yoga, except I still get to kill something." --Ron Swanson

Default Legs?

I have no idea what your fuel capacity or burn rate is. However, that would be the first thing I'd figure out. That's especially true if you choose to explore as others suggest. I try to stick with the Thirds rule; one third of my fuel going out, one third for getting back, with a third held back for the unexpected.

After you leave Resurrection Bay, the next dependable place to get fuel is Whittier and that's a bit out of the way if you're headed to Valdez. Do not count on getting fuel at the village of Chenega; they have a limited supply and need it for themselves.

Sounds like an amazing trip. Have fun.