Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nickel plated brass

Default Nickel plated brass

I am changing out brass for my 300RUM. I have tried to use Nosler brass, but am getting high pressures with most all of my loads, no matter what charge. I took the gun to the gunsmith, and everything is to spec. So, I am changing brass to see if that is the problem. I have a bunch of nickel plated Remington brass, and some regular Remington brass as well. Is the nickel stuff thicker than the regular brass? Also, I have not used nickel plated stuff. I remember reading something about it long ago, but forgot. Any tricks to using it?

I've no experience with Ni rifle brass. I used some Win 357 brass when I first started reloading and it flaked off at the mouth, stuck to the die, and then scratched following brass badly. I don't use much Ni brass and I don't reload it.

Some High Power Rifle shooters like to use Ni brass thinking it won't stick to the chamber as much as regular brass. Don't know??

In full disclosure, I do carry some Ni Remington factory loads in my Ni plated Colt 1911. Kind of like the bank teller that waited on me the other day...pink sweater and pink finger nail polish.

Quote Originally Posted by LeonardC View Post

In full disclosure, I do carry some Ni Remington factory loads in my Ni plated Colt 1911. Kind of like the bank teller that waited on me the other day...pink sweater and pink finger nail polish.
    Thanks for the laugh, that was funny!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Default Nickel plated brass

I haven't had any trouble reloading buckle plates brass for my .375 h&h, it does seem a bit harder to size.

As the previous poster noted, I recycle any that have nickle flaking off.

I've heard that it can flake off in your dies and scratch your brass. I've never had any issues with it though. I just put plenty of imperial wax on and run it through. I've experienced the same as limon, it does seem to be a bit harder to size.