Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dall Sheep

Default Dall Sheep

I rarely post on here but I cannot make up my mind so I thought I would throw out a question to the most secretive group of folks in the world. Sheep hunters! If a guy was to do a Brooks range fly in for Sheep would you go east or west of the Haul Rd? I know that's very generalized but wanted to get openion without trying to pry a "honey hole" Ive done research on some areas on both sides and cant make up my mind.
    Thanks

Hands down; East.

The opposite of whatever a sheep hunter says.
    (I have no brooks range experience, this is merely a general rule for sheep
    Hunting information )
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Quote Originally Posted by BRWNBR View Post
    The opposite of whatever a sheep hunter says.
    (I have no brooks range experience, this is merely a general rule for sheep
    Hunting information )
    ^^^^^^^^^^
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Sheep on both sides,, research will show why one side has more "huntable land" than the other. This late in the year,, anywhere an Air Taxi will take you. This late most of the common areas will be booked and if not now, they will be a few days after the draw results are released.
    Founding Member

Most all the Brooks Range west of the haul rd. is Nat. Park, until you get to unit 23. Your not eligible to hunt Park lands. East of the haul rd. is all Refuge. All are eligible to hunt there. If your going to use a transporter, talk with them on where they can drop you and have a good chance at success.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

Quote Originally Posted by stid2677 View Post
    ^^^^^^^^^^