Thread: Looking for better rain gear

Default Looking for better rain gear

Hey you guys, I'm looking for better rain gear, and I wonder what some of you have used and found to be of good quality & performance.

I have been using stuff from REI for several years now, and I'm just not happy with any of it. My current rainsuit is a Sierra Designs top and an REI brand Elements rai pant. I've tried several expensive (according to my definition of expensive) rain suits, from big name companies (Sierra Designs, North Face, Columbia), and they've all been crap or, at best, fair. Most of them start to soak up rain after the first or second season. Some of them rip or tear easily. Some of them have the seam tape coming up everywhere. REI used to have that awesome return policy of no questions asked, but they no longer accept returns past 30 days. (Which is about like everyone else. Besides, I'm sick of taking stuff back all the time.) I switched over to Frogg Toggs thinking if the expensive stuff was so disposable, I may as well buy disposable. Couldn't the frogg togs to last even a summer..

I need a rain suit that is truly waterproof, packable, and DURABLE. (Breathable is optional, but every "breathable" raincoat I ever owned wasn't breathable enough and I was still wet from sweat.) Looking for one suit for camping, canoeing, hiking, hunting, fishing. I've wasted hundreds at REI, so if I have to spend some to get the right product, that's okay.

Check out the Outdoor Research Revel gear. I used it the last 2 years on 10 day walk-in sheep hunts in the Brooks with lots of rain. Material is kind of stretchy, durable. Kind of supple and not as crinkly as most stuff. When I'm packing long and heavy in the rain I just wear base layer and rain pants and they have held up well to rocks, scree, brush, etc. Pit zips in the jacket go all the way to the hem so it can act like a poncho. Makes it nice with a backpack on cuz you can cover the whole belt, you can see in the pic below.